My Bloody Mary Day

The  weather’s  been  rather  stormy  the  last  few  days  like  an  ex  yelling  through  the  door  and  much  like  that  situation  all  it  inspired  me  to  do  was  snuggle  up  in  bed  and  watch  a  few  movies  (yeah,  lets  call  them  movies).  But  today  the  sun  seemed  out  to  play,  that  frisky  fellow,  and  so  was  I  only  I  lacked  the  energy.  Strange,  cause  the  air  is  usually  electric  with  excitement,  anticipation  and  sex  on  a  Friday.  I  must  be  getting  old  cause,  quite  frankly,  none  of  those  seems  appealing.  Still,  a  pick  me  up  may  just  be  the  answer.  Off  to  the  bar…I  mean  shelf!

Mimosa

...but some day.

Not my time...

Not my time...

Bellinis  and  Mimosas  are  for  champagne  breakfasts  and  wedding  parties  and  aren’t  really  pick  me  ups.  What  I  need  is  a  hair  of  the  dog.  While  there  are  many  cocktails  that  can  be  called  that,  my  memory  switches  to  Jeeves’  marvellous  concoction,  I  prefer  a  Bloody  Mary.  It  doesn’t  seem  out  of  place  at  the  breakfast  table,  goes  well  with  eggs  and  prevents  one  from  being  labelled  an  alcoholic  for  enjoying  a  morning  tipple.

Frankly,  I’ve  never  had  a  good  Bloody  Mary  made  for  me  although  once  I  did  duck  into  a  bar  and  my  friend  was  served  a  rather  good  one  but,  unfortunately,  was  too  shit-faced  to  remember  where  it  was.  So,  until  we  cross  paths  again  I’m  resolved  to  making  my  own.

Now,  this  being  a  blog  some  info  must  be  dispensed  on  the  Bloody  Mary,  I  can’t  just  be  appearing  out  of  nowhere  to  tell  you  lovely  people/person  that  I’m  making  myself  a  drink.

Vodka  is  Russian  for  “little  water”  and  contrary  to  what  people  believe  it  isn’t  cheaper  than  water  in  Russia.  In  fact  some  time  ago,  80’s  maybe  90’s,  some  politician  (I’d  hate  to  think  it  was  Boris  Yelstin)  actually  increased  the  tax  on  vodka  wanting  to  stop  people  drinking  this  alcohol  that  apparently  was  the  staple  of  their  diet.  This  only  resulted  in  people  turning  to  moonshine  which  in  turn  led  to  several  hundred  deaths.  The  lesson:  taxes  bad.

The  first  cocktail  in  America  to  use  vodka,  according  to  Bartending  for  Dummies,  was  the  Moscow  Mule  in  1946  by  Jack  Martin  and  John  Morgan.  The  vodka  they  used,  Smirnoff.  This  story  does  seem  a  little  odd,  and  mind  you  any  story  that  involves  the  origins  of  a  cocktail  have  to  be  taken  with  a  grain  of  salt  (as  with  DC  they  tend  to  be  retconned),  cause  according  to  Modern  Mixologist  the  Bloody  Mary  went  to  America  after  the  end  of  prohibition  which  was  long  before  1946  which  would  have  made  it  the  first  cocktail  to  be  made  using  Vodka.  Don’t  try  to  use  reason,  it  doesn’t  work  when  you’re  dealing  with  what  mostly  amounts  to  folklore.  “History  is  made  on  fact,  fiction,  supposition,  and  a  good  imagination,  especially  if  it  benefits  the  individual  writing  it”  Brian  Rea.

The  Bloody  Mary  itself  comes  from  a  great  lineage  been  created  by  Pete  Petiot  at  Harry’s  New  York  Bar  (a  name  you  will  come  across  quite  frequently  in  stories  involving  the  origin  of  cocktails)  in  Paris.  The  namesake  of  the  cocktail  is  often  attributed  to  either  Mary  Tudor,  who  was  known  for  burning  her  enemies  at  the  stake,  or  the  cinematic  actress  Mary  Pickford.

Bloody Mary

Hmmm....

Ingredients:  (what  I  use)

2  ounces  Vodka

¼  ounce  Lime  Juice

4 ounces  Tomato  juice

1 tsp  Worcestershire  sauce

4  –  6  dashes  of  Tabasco

Of  course  if  you  want  to  be  specific  and  can  actually  be  bothered  to  get  the  ingredients  then  follow  this  recipe  but  I  like  it  like  this.  And  a  good   time  was  had  by  all.

What  am  I  listening  to  right  now?   Slow  Club – If  We’re  Still  Alive

Leave a Reply

